Thunder’s Mark Daigneault Named NBA Coach Of Year

Thunder coach Mark Daigneault has been named NBA Coach of the Year, the league announced on Sunday.Mark Daigneault, Thunder, NBA

This should come as a surprise to nobody — considering how Daigneault and the Thunder finished with the No. 1 seed in the Western Conference one year after failing to make the playoffs.

OKC did it with a roster that is among the youngest in the NBA, too.

Daigneault won the award in a virtual landslide, compiling 89 first-place votes. All of the other candidates had 10 combined. Along with that, he had nine second-place votes and one third-place vote for a total of 473 points.

The Magic’s Jamahl Mosley finished second with four first-place votes and 158 points. Mohsley was followed by the Timberwolves’ Chris Finch (105 points), the Celtics’ Joe Mazzulla (79) and the Knicks’ Tom Thibodeau (59).

Daigneault is in his fourth season as Thunder coach. He becomes the second coach in franchise history to win the award, joining Scott Brooks (2009-10).

The Thunder hold a 3-0 lead over the Pelicans in their first-round playoff series.

Looking for the latest NBA Insider News & Rumors?

Be sure to follow Hoops Wire on TWITTER and FACEBOOK for breaking NBA News and Rumors for all 30 teams!

Leave a Reply